J.C.H. Spence, ForMemRS Richard Snell Professor of Physics

This is the web page of Professor J.C.H. Spence FRS in the Physics Department at Arizona State University,  USA. John is Director of Science for the NSF BioXFEL  Science and Technology Center on the application of X-Ray Free-electron lasers to structural biology. This is a consortium of 7 US Universities (ASU, Stanford, Millwaukee, Cornell, Rice, SUNY Buffalo, UCSF) devoted to the development and application of hard X-ray lasers to Biology for a decade.

John teaches a graduate class in condensed matter physics. Research is conducted in our ASU lab,  at DESY, and at LCLS at SLAC (and other XFELs worldwide) on atomic structure, processes and dynamics in organic and inorganic matter. It is funded by NSF, DOE, ARO and LBL. Updated 9/2019

His faculty web page can be found at https://physics.asu.edu/content/john-spence   
Our (old, not updated) research group web page is http://spencelab.la.asu.edu/

John C. H.  Spence completed a PhD in Physics at Melbourne University in 1972,  followed by a postdoc at Oxford UK. He was awarded (with Chapman and Hajdu) the Aminoff Prize from the Royal Swedish Academy in 2020. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society (Foreign Member), a Correponding (Foreign) Member of the Australian Academy of Science, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, of the National Academy of Inventors,  the American Physical Society, the Microscopy Society of American, of the Royal Microscopy Society, of the Institute of Physics (UK), and an Overseas fellow of Churchill College Cambridge, UK. He received the Distinguished Scientist  award of the Microscopy Society of America  for 2006,  the Buerger Award of the American Crystallographic Society in 2012, the J.M. Cowley Medal of the International Federation of Societies of  Microscopy for 2014, the Burton Medal of MSA and a Humbolt Senior Scientist award. He was Co-Editor of Acta Cryst (A) for North America (Diffraction Physics, 1990-2000) and is Main Editor of IUCRJ  (XFEL Science). He has served on Scientific Advisory Committees at LBNL and was a member of the DOE  BESAC Committee for a decade. He was chair of the International Union of Crystallography Commission on Electron Diffraction, a member of the IUCr commission on Charge, Spin and Momentum densities. A Festschrift volume of Ultramic appeared in July 2011. The X-ray laser structural biology work with our collaborators was ranked among the top ten scientific breakthroughs of 2012 by Science magazine.  John has US and Australian citizenship.